Champions of Change - Female Leadership

The Champions of Change – Female Leadership Award recognises a mid or senior level female professional who has demonstrated leadership capabilities and/or is championing change within her firm or in the industry more broadly.


Dr Marianne Foley


Dr Marianne Foley is a values-driven collaborative leader, technical innovator and designer within the built environment. She is the Building Sector Leader for the Australasia Region and professional fire safety engineer. Marianne is an Arup Fellow: a position awarded for technical and design excellence, and ability to innovate and inspire.

Somoud Al Masri


Somoud sits on the Jacobs Inclusion & Diversity Council and is the global co-chair for Jacobs Women’s Network, working with senior leaders across Jacobs 50,000 employees to drive greater gender balance. Somoud is also the Jacobs Implementation lead for our CEO Global Tech Group Male Champion of Change.

Esther Soon


Esther brought Engineering Aid Australia (EAA) to SMEC as a charity partner and continues to lead SMEC’s involvement with EAA’s Indigenous Engineering Summer School. Esther is also a member of SMECs RAP working group. Additionally, Esther contributes passionately to STEM initiatives to work towards a more diverse industry.

Sarah Board


Sarah is a passionate leader who has established successful water teams in QLD and NSW.  She role models value-based leadership, working flexibly to support family and completing Breast Cancer treatment in 2019. Sarah is part of CA Mental Health Ambassador Network. She is a mentor and advocate for female participation in engineering.

Afroz Awan

Integral Group

With 10 years of professional experience Afroz has led project teams and mentored junior Engineers towards Mechanical Sustainable Design practices to be cognisant and drive change. An active member of our Diversity Council, she is also the Implementation Leader for the CA Male Champions of Change and is committed to increasing gender diversity across the industry.
Proudly sponsored by
aco cbus